Skip to content

And then there were two…

July 6, 2010

Today during lunch, I ran out to the local hobby shop, King’s Hobby (located, as all local hobby shops are, in a somewhat dodgy area of town). I meant to pick up some primer and maybe a bottle or two of paint, and ended up walking out with one of these:

Tamiya 1/48 P-51D Mustang

Honestly, I had every intention of holding off on building a P-51D for awhile, both because I’m starting back up with a P-51B and because natural metal finishes are intimidating.

But I just couldn’t resist.

Now I need to figure out which markings I want to go with. I’m very tempted to try my hand at the pictured Mustang, Lieutenant Colonel John Meyer’s “Petite 2nd” of the 352nd Fighter Group. The 352nd’s distinctive blue nose looks like a nightmare to mask off, but Meyer did play a major part in one of the craziest air battles of World War II, the “Legend of Y-29”, and his plane or one of the other “Blue-Nosed Bastards of Bodney” would make an interesting subject.

Leave a Reply

