Skip to content

Is this where LOST is going?

April 9, 2010

As the sixth and final season of LOST has been unfolding over the past several weeks, I’ve had this sense that a lot of the answers are right in front of us, only we can’t quite see how they fit together yet. It’s almost as though we’re looking at an image that’s slightly out of focus, just beyond our perception.

For the moment, I won’t even attempt to figure out what we’ll see when everything comes into focus. Pretty much the only time I’ve ever guessed correctly about anything on LOST was when I called Desmond being locked in the submarine.

But even if I don’t have a clue what everything will look like after that final POOM…Bad Robot, after this week’s Desmond-centric “Happily Ever After…”, I think I have a sense of where things might be going.

Now…this idea of mine doesn’t draw on any spoilers…but it does reference the title of a forthcoming episode, so if you want to remain absolutely, completely ignorant and don’t want to engage in any speculation, best head elsewhere.

Before I get into my theory, let me start with a few observations and assumptions based on everything that’s happened up through the last episode:

– In the Sideways-verse, the island is at the bottom of the ocean (as seen in the season premiere)

– The Sideways-verse is taking place in 2004, while Island-verse takes place in 2007

– Everyone in the Sideways-verse seems to get something they desire, but with a catch.

– For the characters, the Sideways-verse is occurring AFTER the Island-verse, as evidenced by Desmond, Charlie, and Daniel Faraday/Widmore remembering island events and relationships.

– One of the later episodes this season (I think the one right before the finale) is titled “What They Died For”.

Based on these observations and assumptions, my theory goes like this:

– At some point over the next several episodes, the frozen donkey wheel is going to make another appearance, and the island will be sent back in time.

– Everyone on the island will die, and Smokey will “win”.

– Somehow, the island will be sent to the bottom of the ocean (perhaps this is what lets Smokey escape?)

– The Sideways-verse is something of a construct, a false reality, not unlike the Matrix (or maybe the Nexus in Star Trek: Generations).

– As the walls of this constructed reality start to crack, the Losties will begin remembering more and more of their island lives, including, crucially, the key to defeating/containing Smokey.

– The finale will involve the Losties in the Sideways-verse either returning to the island or breaking out of the construct and defeating Smokey.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 11, 2010 9:36 pm

    I think it’s clear that Smokey is evil, but you don’t think that Jacob might actually be revealed as a bad guy as well? Maybe? Perhaps? Possibly?

  2. Doogs permalink*
    April 11, 2010 9:48 pm

    That’s one of those things I don’t really feel I can speculate on. Personally, yeah, I think there are definitely shades of gray involved, despite all the white/black imagery associated with Jacob and Smokey. To fly my geek flag, I wouldn’t be surprised at all if they both end up being “bad” in their own ways, sort of like the Vorlons and Shadows in Babylon 5.

    BUT…I don’t necessarily think the shades of gray impact my overall sense of where things are going, i.e. everyone in Island-verse dying.

  3. Tim permalink
    April 12, 2010 2:44 pm

    As long as they don’t have to re-enact that drum circle/rave scene from The Matrix, I’m cool.

Leave a Reply

