Skip to content

Doogs goes to camp

February 27, 2010

So today, my boss and I made our way to the UT campus to attend VideoCamp Austin. Sure, it was Saturday, but as they say, duty calls.

Now, I wasn’t really sure what to expect going in. I mean, I’ve taken part in seven video shoots in my time at Powered. Of those I’ve written the scripts for four, directed two, and done all kinds of random crap besides. But I don’t consider myself an expert. Not by a long shot. More like I know just enough to be dangerous. And so when Jenny asked yesterday if we wanted to present anything (VideoCamp is open format with volunteer presentations), I demurred. Not knowing who would be there, I was afraid we’d present our low-budget video adventures to a crowd of bona fide experts who’d probably pat us on the head like overeager children.

Was I ever wrong.

Sure, there were a ton of really smart, really experienced people on hand. But if I was anticipating an overall knowledge level of, say, 8 on a scale of 10, I’d have to say it was in actuality closer to a 4. That’s not a knock against anybody, per se (okay, maybe those who seemed genuinely surprised that you could post a video to YouTube with your iPhone…), but more a realization that, you know, a presentation about how we approached and developed our Actual Useful videos would probably have been, um, actually useful.

Apart from realizing that we’re further along the curve than I thought, I have to admit VideoCamp Austin was something of a mixed bag. The morning sessions – one on storytelling through editing and the other on product marketing – were great. Jenny and I came out of those with all kinds of ideas of how we could take our video efforts to the next level. The keynote, though, just didn’t do it for me at all. But maybe that’s because I don’t find the knowledge that you can play your Flickr photos as a slideshow all that mindblowing.

The afternoon sessions we attended improved on the keynote, but I don’t think they really lived up to the excellence of the morning sessions. Especially the B2C video session that wasn’t about video at all. There were nuggets here and there, but I didn’t come out of those sessions brimming with ideas. But then, every conference-type event I’ve ever attended has had an element of session roulette involved.

Overall, it was an interesting day, and one I’d be glad to repeat, though the next time around I’d definitely push to present.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. jennyo permalink
    February 28, 2010 7:29 pm

    and at the end of our presentation next year, we’ll serve s’mores.

    Or, even better, we can make an ActuallyUsefulVideo about making s’mores!! talk about standing room only.

    good fun camping with you. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. 501derful.org – VideoCamp Austin Results!

Leave a Reply

