Skip to content

The one part of my job that just got easier…

January 11, 2010

I’ve posted before about how difficult it can be to tell people what I do for a living:

I always get a bit flummoxed when someone asks me what I do for a living. Unless you’re in the industry, my job isn’t the sort that lends itself to easy explanation. I’m sure there’s a happy medium between telling people I’m a writer and telling them I’m an associate creative director at asocial media marketing company that specializes in branded online communities, but with my tendencies toward social anxiety, the answer usually comes out sounding all garbled and retarded.

Well today the difficult just got a lot easier. Earlier today, Powered announced the acquisition of three leading social media companies (crayon, StepChange and Drillteam) to form the first full-service social media agency. In other words, we’re now positioned to help brands navigate the new waters of social media, from Twitter and Facebook to full-blown brand communities and even offline events.

And now I get to tell people that I’m an associate creative director at a social media agency. Which is still way more complicated than saying I’m a doctor or something, but at least I can shove it into one sentence…

If you want to read more about the acquisitions – http://twitter.com/#search?q=%40poweredinc

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 11, 2010 8:21 pm

    So are you saying that you hand the customers’ orders to the engineers or does your secretary do that?

  2. Matt permalink*
    January 11, 2010 8:33 pm

    I’M A PEOPLE PERSON!

  3. January 12, 2010 7:50 am

    Funny – usually it seems like people try to make up longer titles for themselves. “Regional District Executive Vice President of Account Management – Northern States” is the actual title a friend of mine holds. His Business Card is a mess!!!!

Leave a Reply

