Skip to content

Top 25 Films of the 2000s – #18

December 14, 2009

#18 – Transformers (2007)

Yes, I know. If any one choice in my top 25 is assured to earn me scorn and mockery, this is it.

What can I say, I’m biased. Transformers were the definitive toys of my childhood. The cartoon was the first show I ever found on the TV by myself. I’m pretty sure the animated movie introduced me to the concept of death. So when I found out a live-action Transformers was happening, I was jazzed.

Is the movie perfect? No. Far from it. The script is actually pretty bad, the robot fight scenes too fast and too close-in to get a good sense of what’s going on, etc. But it nailed Optimus Prime, got me to buy into the idea of Bumblebee as a Camaro, and, to my eternal surprise, Jamie actually liked it.

It’s really too bad that the sequel was a mess. It’s like it fixed some of the flaws with the first one, but then went and dumped in a whole bunch of other crap. That, and it got way too serious about itself.

But the first one is still a blast, and I look forward to watching it with Nolan when he gets a bit older.

#19 – Iron Man

#20 – Monsters, Inc.

#21 – Inglourious Basterds

#22 – Hot Fuzz

#23 – Watchmen

#24 – Pirates of the Caribbean: Curse of the Black Pearl

#25 – District 9

Leave a Reply

