Skip to content

Top 25 Films of the 2000s – #21

December 11, 2009

#21 – Inglourious Basterds (2009)

Inglourious Basterds is a really tough film to pin down. I think the best description might be something like “World War II Fantasy”, but even that doesn’t seem to capture it. But, in a way, that’s what I love about it. It defies categorization. It draws from many genres, but belongs to none. If you think you know what to expect going in, chances are you’re wrong.

After catching Basterds toward the end of the summer, I posted a few thoughts about the movie, and the stuff going on under the surface that really drew me in. Briefly, the Ennio Morricone score that builds a subtle connection with the best of the spaghetti westerns, the role of cinema in battling the Nazis, the use of alternate history as a commentary on the glaring inaccuracies in so many historical epics, and the story’s embrace of the slow burn. If you want to read more, the post is HERE, but beware, it does contain spoilers, so don’t come crying to me if you haven’t seen it yet.

Over time, I think this is one of those movies that might well creep up my list. I mean, how many movies can build tension with two characters sitting around a table talking about milk? But I think it has to age a bit first, at least in my mind, before I can figure out where it really ranks, both in Tarantino’s filmography and among the other movies of the decade.

#22 – Hot Fuzz

#23 – Watchmen

#24 – Pirates of the Caribbean: Curse of the Black Pearl

#25 – District 9

Leave a Reply

