Skip to content

Summer Movie Roundup

August 14, 2009

It’s been a decidedly mixed summer at the movies, but we’ve certainly been treated to some gems amid the crap (and some crap that, despite being crap, is still really fun).

So far, I’ve seen four movies that I will be buying when they release on Blu-ray. These four are, in my opinion, the highlights of the summer:

Star Trek

I’m still amazed at how well-done, well-acted, and fun this movie was. Despite a few convenient coincidences and a lackluster villain, this flick was everything I hoped it would be and more. As per usual for Star Trek, it’s the characters and the effortless chemistry among the cast that sold it. I managed to see it twice in theaters (rare with Nolan around), and will be revisiting it often on Blu-ray.

Up

With the perspective of a few months, and the exposure to A LOT of Pixar films at home, I don’t think I can say Up is their best, or even one of their best, but even an average showing for Pixar is still better than a good film from most other studios. And Dug the Dog may well be the best talking animal character ever created.

G.I. Joe

Wow. I had fantasically low expectations going into this movie. And for the most part, they were confirmed. It’s as retarded as retarded gets. But, to my pleasant surprise, it was also way more fun than it had any right to be. In a lot of ways, it reminded me of Sommers’ Mummy movies. You know they’re terrible, but when you want to get away from the daily cares and frustrations and just let your inner 10-year-old run free, they’re perfect.

District 9

I had the chance to see Neill Blomkamp’s directoral debut this afternoon, and while I don’t quite think it’s the sci-fi masterpiece so many are heralding it to be, I still loved it. Great movie, great plot, amazing directing and a very strong showing by totally unknown actors. What amazes me most, though, is how much Blomkamp was able to do with a mere $30 million. I don’t know if this find a place beside 2001, Aliens, etc as a sci-fi great for the ages, but I do think we will be looking back on it 25 years from now the way we look at Cameron’s Terminator, the out-of-nowhere debut from a new director that’s way better than it has any right to be.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Tim permalink
    August 15, 2009 10:58 am

    I would add Funny People to the list … thought it was great. And a couple others I can’t think of at the moment …

    I need to see District 9. Maybe I can convince Beth on that one tonight.

  2. Matt permalink*
    August 15, 2009 2:13 pm

    Yeah there are a few I haven’t seen – Funny People, The Hangover first and foremost.

  3. August 16, 2009 8:55 am

    The Hangover is in my top ten of funny movies of all time. Had it’s crude moments – but not even close to the unneeded crudeness of some of the others recently. It really never stopped being funny – there was no dull moment!!!

  4. Tim permalink
    August 17, 2009 8:49 am

    Yeah, The Hangover and The Hurt Locker would have to be in any Summer ’09 Top 5 for me.

    Really loved District 9. Most exciting new voice in film since Tarantino … at least that’s my reaction.

    If I had to do a quick Summer ’09 Top 5, it might look like:

    1. District 9
    2. The Hangover
    3. Funny People
    4. Star Trek
    5. The Hurt Locker

    Haven’t seen Up and a bunch of others, so this is limited to what I’ve seen …

  5. August 18, 2009 11:26 pm

    Best film of the summer is definitely (500) Days of Summer. (hehe)

Leave a Reply

