Skip to content

The Charms of Mini Ownership

May 19, 2009

Two months ago, my Mini passed the 10,000 mile mark. With the first Mini, this was the interval for the first oil change and major service, so I called the dealer to make an appointment. The call went something like this:

Me: “Hi, I need to schedule an appointment for 10,000 mile service.”

Dealer: “2008 models don’t require 10,000 mile service. Your car will let you know when you need to bring it in.”

Me: “Oh, okay.”

Coolio. The dealership is in San Antonio and it’s a pain to get away for a whole day, so I wasn’t really put out.

Then, a week or so ago, the Mini developed a weird popping noise somewhere in the vicinity of the front driver side tire. Every bump, jostle, etc was suddenly accompanied by a deep, flat “thock”. So I called and set up an appointment to have it checked out. The pop randomly went away late last week, but I decided to keep the appointment. Better safe than sorry.

So this morning I drove down to San Antonio (motto: “We’re like Dallas, but without zoning”), got to the dealer, and had the following conversation:

Dealer: “So in addition to your suspension issue, your Mini is also two months overdue for an oil change, front brakes, air filter, microfilter, et al.”

Me: “You told me the car would tell me when it needed service.”

Dealer: “Yeah, sometimes they don’t.”

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 20, 2009 9:32 pm

    If it starts leaking fluid and losing electrics then you will get the full English experience.

    Glad you are still enjoying it. We still need to schedule a track day with you, Tree, and I.

  2. May 29, 2009 3:26 pm

    I love dealing with car dealerships!!

Leave a Reply

