Skip to content

Take Me Out to the Ballgame…

April 6, 2009

Today, I listened to the Rangers’ home opener against the Indians. It was a great game. The Rangers crushed the Tribe 9-1. 

It was also the first baseball game I’ve followed with anything resembling interest in, oh, ten years.

I loved baseball as a kid. I collected cards, played catch with my dad what now seems like every evening. I was there at Arlington Stadium when Nolan Ryan pitched his 5,000th strikeout. 

Then, sometime around 1994, I lost interest. Maybe it was the strike. I don’t know. Whatever the case, I soured on the game. I still tuned in to watch the home run records fall, and made my way out to Arlington for a few games when I was home from college, but that’s about it. And as player after player became implicated in the steroid scandal, well, it seemed to confirm in my mind that something about baseball was…broken.

So why the change of heart? Why have I come back to the game after so long?

There are three reasons.

First, because of Nolan. Baseball played a pretty big part of my childhood. I don’t know if Nolan will go in as far as I did. Maybe he will, maybe he won’t. But I kind of want the option to be there. Maybe it’s me wanting to be able to play catch with him as he gets older, or to have that father-son bonding experience of taking him to his first game.

Second, because I got bored enough a few weekends ago to switch on NASCAR. Ugh. So bad. Most of the scripted shows go off the air during the summer, leaving nothing to watch. But baseball will be on. And baseball makes great background TV. 

Third, because of a few coworkers. Funny, I was actually planning on picking up baseball again after that dreadful NASCAR experience a few weeks back (an ad for Fox baseball Saturdays gave me the idea) when it started getting a lot of chatter at work. Spring fever seems to be contagious this year, I suppose…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Kay permalink
    April 6, 2009 10:11 pm

    Remember the batting lesson with Scott Fletcher?

  2. Matt permalink*
    April 6, 2009 10:17 pm

    Do I ever. Looking back, I find it kind of funny that auction was for a batting lesson with him. I mean, Scott Fletcher was always a fielder first and foremost and a workmanlike hitter at best.

  3. April 18, 2009 9:20 am

    The first game I took Austin to was AWESOME and I will never forget it. He was pretty little and we sat in Dad’s seats behind home plate. It was just me and Austin and even though we only lasted 5 innings – it was a great day that I will never forget!

    PS – Eddie Murray gave Austin a high five before the game!

Leave a Reply

