Skip to content

YouTube’s a Bitch…

September 2, 2008
4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 2, 2008 8:11 pm

    To Easy – you can find the same stuff on almost any candidate. There are several floating around about Obama, Hillary and Bush. Still the funniest is when Obama’s teleprompter broke and he tried to finish his speech. It got so bad they began heckling him. And how about the most famous of all….”I did not have sexual relations with that girl” or “I did not inhale”. Of course Bush has given us an entire new language (much like Shaq!) Let’s face it, all politicians lie to make themselves look better. Whatever they promise now will probably not be what they deliver. That is what makes going with a relative unkown so scary. At least someone that has been in the political arena or public life for a while for better or worse gives you something to base your judgment off of, because if you just go off campaign promises, you will be fooled every time.

  2. Kay permalink
    September 2, 2008 9:19 pm

    Well said JB.

  3. Jamie permalink
    September 3, 2008 12:26 pm

    I disagree. Yes politicians lie. But I’d like to think not all. Of course no politician will be able to implement what they “promise” during their campaign. Our government was designed with a system of checks and balances. If one candidate could do everything they wanted then our system wouldn’t be working at all. Even if Obama wins and we have a Democratic president and a Democratic congress there will be things that don’t get accomplished because not everyone will agree. Our government was designed to encourage and require argument and disagreement, so that policies would not be implemented without enough thought. So I look at a candidate’s platform as their “ideal.” They are saying if I had a free pass, this is what I’d do. And luckily no one gets a free pass.

    I think it is very sad that we are not willing to hope that something good can come from our president. Experience is not the end all be all for me. I don’t want to vote for someone just because he’s been around. I want to vote for someone I believe will benefit our country and leave it better than when he took office.

    McCain and Obama are both good people. They both have strengths and weaknesses. Each individual has to weigh what’s available and decide who they want. That’s it. There’s no need to call people names or be disrespectful.

    Matt and I support Obama. And Matt chooses to post his opinions on his blog. If you’re going to disagree do it intelligently and don’t resort to name calling-that horse is already dead.

  4. September 4, 2008 1:04 am

    Jamie – I apologize if you felt that offended by my response, that was never my intent. I was merely expressing my opinion, something that I have been doing on Matt’s Blog for years. We are family, so I never wanted to make anyone angry (I even sent Matt and e-mail this morning letting him know that even though I don’t agree with him I do respect him tremendously as well as respect his right to have an opinion that is different from mine).

    I am a little put off, however, that I am not allowed to have a different opinion, and if I do, my opinion is deemed as unintelligent and disrespectful. I thought that my response was fairly intelligent and I can’t figure out how it was disrespectful, especially since the original post was poking fun at McCain. I thought that debate and differences of opinion were what blogging and our country were all about? That is the beauty of our country, that we are all allowed to think differently, to have different dream and passions. When we start to think of others as unintelligent (or dumb) and disrespectful (or rude) just because their viewpoint differs from ours – we are basically paving the road for the “Orwellian” (yes I made that word up) nightmare of 1984. Everything that I posted was fact, Obama’s teleprompter did break (see you tube and his own confession afterward), Clinton did lie, Bush has made up words and Hillary, Obama and McCain have all been caught publicly “flip-flopping” (hopefully I have not offended and I-Hop kitchen personnel with that last comment). Just like you stated “Our government was designed with a system of checks and balances”, and I was just bringing the same spirit to the blog. I always thought that Matt enabled the “response” button so he could get just that from his posts – a response. If I am only allowed to agree with all of Matt’s opinions, then I will no longer post, because as much as I love and respect Matt – I don’t agree with everything he says, nor do I expect him to agree with everything that I say.

    I know that I am no Rhodes Scholar, but I get a little fired up when my opinion is called unintelligent and disrespectful just because it is different. To me, that is the exact opposite kind of “change ” that I am looking for.

    PS – “When you point your finger at someone, three fingers are pointing back at you.”
    – Mr. Brady

    We are not the first family to debate over politics…….I really do send this out of love, not anger.

Leave a Reply

