Skip to content

Scary…

August 31, 2008

A lot of things have troubled me about the Bush administration, but none so much as the habit for making “from-the-hip” decisions with absolutely no introspection or later analysis. Decisions are made and then stuck to, for good or ill.

So when I read this on Andrew Sullivan’s blog, I must admit I found myself distressed.

First quote:

“[George W. Bush] doesn’t second-guess himself,” Jim Francis, a longtime friend from Texas, told me. “I second-guess myself all the time — ‘Maybe I shouldn’t have done this or that.’ He just doesn’t have that in him. I have never seen him do that. I think it gives him a comfort level in that office that others have not had.”

Second quote:

The selection [of Palin] was the culmination of a five-month process, described by Mr. McCain’s inner circle and outside advisers in interviews this past weekend, and offers a glimpse into how Mr. McCain might make high-stakes decisions as president.

At the very least, the process reflects Mr. McCain’s history of making fast, instinctive and sometimes risky decisions. “I make them as quickly as I can, quicker than the other fellow, if I can,” Mr. McCain wrote, with his top adviser Mark Salter, in his 2002 book, “Worth the Fighting For.” “Often my haste is a mistake, but I live with the consequences without complaint.”

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 1, 2008 10:57 pm

    Yikes!

Leave a Reply

