Skip to content

Stop the Presses!

August 9, 2008

A week ago, I was all gung-ho about my next novel, The Legions of Cannae. Now, I’m not so sure. Something about the project just seems…off. That’s not to say I find the story of the Cannae legions tiresome. Far from it. It’s just that, now that I’ve gone through the motions of planning and outlining, I’m no longer sure it’s the best topic to hang a story on. If anything, I think it would work better as originally planned, as a plot element in the Hannibalic War series.

Why this change of heart? I can’t say exactly. Part of it, I think, is the passivity of the story. The legions were exiled through no fault or action of their own, and while they ultimately won their redemption at Zama, it could be argued that even that was a product of Scipio’s skillful exploitation of the resources at hand.

Another source of hesitation is the scale of the story, the sheer length of it. The Cannae legions were exiled for fifteen years. Even pared down, that’s a lot to cram into a single novel.

Finally, there’s the issue of overlap to consider. The Legions of Cannae covers the same period as my Hannibalic War series. Granted, I’ve only written The Scourge of Rome, but I already have a rough sketch of the remaining three books in my head, and somehow I’ve managed to give myself the impression that proceeding with The Legions of Cannae is tantamount to admitting that TSOR will never get published, and that I will never have the chance to write the rest of Scipio’s story.

Given these reservations, I think it would probably be wise to put The Legions of Cannae aside and focus my energies on a different project, something completely removed from the Second Punic War

Look for more once I get everything sorted out.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Kay permalink
    August 10, 2008 12:14 pm

    Personally, I’d like to know what happens with the current story. How about finishing the trilogy?

Trackbacks

  1. All Worked Out… « Carpe Hot Dog

Leave a Reply

