Skip to content

The Other Side…

April 29, 2008

Four and a half years ago, I set off on a fool’s quest to write a novel. And not just any novel, but a historical epic set among the opening years of Rome’s bitter struggle with the Carthaginian general, Hannibal.

About a year ago, I fulfilled that quest and completed the first draft of The Scourge of Rome. Even then, though, I knew I was far from finished. I still had to edit the novel, revise the sections, tighten the story, and cut off a whole ton of words along the way. In other words, I was done, but I wasn’t.

As of today, though, I am really, truly, actually done. This morning, I finished my substantial revisions to the original draft. My initial word count of 261,000 has been trimmed to 183,701. The pacing, I feel, is leaner and tighter without detracting from either the story or character development. Overall, I feel it is a far stronger work than it was this time last year. And, now that it’s under 200,000 words, an infinitely more marketable one, as well.

So…now that I’m done…what’s next?

My immediate priority is going to be revisiting my query letter. After that, it’s on to the submissions process. But in between mailing queries and waiting to hear back, I’m planning to start laying the groundwork for my next project. More on that later.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 29, 2008 10:11 am

    Congratulations!!!! I can’t wait to read it (neither can Austin – he has turned into a real Roman History buff).

  2. Kay permalink
    April 29, 2008 11:59 am

    Who would have thought you’d finish the editing so quickly after Nolan arrived? Good job.

  3. April 30, 2008 1:59 pm

    Congrats! I really am impressed that you managed to write and edit and novel while being married, working, and fathering a child…
    you make me feel so lame by comparison.
    Best of luck and I hope you get published.

  4. May 1, 2008 4:08 pm

    Congratulations my friend. I enjoyed reading the preliminary draft. Keep me posted. By the way did you receive the gift certificate for the babay awhile back? I sent it just before I ventured to Austin to see Nolan.

Leave a Reply

