Skip to content

Match.com

April 6, 2008

I’m sure we’ve all seen the new ads for Match.com. You know, the ones saying “it’s okay to look”? Which strikes me as silly, because I was pretty sure the social stigma against online dating has pretty much faded, but hey, I’m not the one laying out millions of dollars for the ad campaign, so whatever.

Anyway, these ads feature what the Powerpoint deck (and you know there was one) probably refer to as a “quirky, attractive individual” sort of moving around awkwardly and maybe laughing, then pans back and does the whole “it’s okay to look” spiel.

I usually tune these ads out. Hell, I usually tune most ads out. But that’s because I only really pay attention to the good ones. Despite this practice, the occasional crap does slip through, and last night Jamie and I caught one of these ads. It featured a black guy wearing, I kid you not, a ROBIN HOOD HAT! Complete with feather!

What was that all about?

Elsewhere on TV, John Adams continues to be amazing, even if Jamie and I are only through Episode 3 (gosh, thanks Nolan!). And the season premiere of Battlestar Galactica? Holy frak! I didn’t know how they were going to follow up last season’s finale, but they did. Best show on television.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 7, 2008 3:24 pm

    What, like not everyone walks around in a Peter Pan hat???????? Truth be told, I lounge at home in an Aquaman orange and green leotard. The fins make it a little cumbersome to type in, but it makes me feel powerful! My goldfish and I share a special bond.

Leave a Reply

