Skip to content

Snake Eyes…

March 21, 2008

Did you know Stephen Sommers (the guy who directed The Mummy and The Mummy Returns) is making a G.I. Joe movie? If not, now you do.

I’m not sure what to think. On the one hand…Stephen Sommers? On the other, the G.I. Joe was pretty heavy on the cheese, so maybe the guy who directed a quipping Brendan Frasier wouldn’t be such a bad idea. Still, I can’t help but cringe at the notion of a fun, cheeseball movie about an elite military unit that goes after ARMS DEALERS AND TERRORISTS. You know. Given the state of world affairs and all.

Who am I kidding? I’ll probably see it anyway come 2009.

Early casting has been mixed. I mean…Marlon Wayans and Channing Tatum? Seriously? But the suck is balanced out with some good choices, including Christopher Eccleston as Destro, Arnold Vosloo (Imhotep himself!) as Zartan, the dude who played Mr. Ecko on LOST as Heavy Duty, and Ray Park (Darth Maul) as everyone’s favorite blind and mute ninja-commando-fashionista, Snake Eyes. And for some reason Joseph Goron-Levitt has been cast as Cobra Commander. I’m assuming it has to do with the nasally, high-pitched voice, because otherwise, WTF?

There hasn’t been too much out there about the film yet, but today I opened up my browser and, lo and behold, it’s frakkin’ Snake Eyes!

How cool is that? It’s like they ripped him right out of the cartoon, right down to the wrist cuffs.

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 21, 2008 8:27 am

    This is so BAD ASS. He’s looking freaking perfect. Talk about attention to detail. Poor Ray Park just can’t get a break! Apparently he’s only winning roles that avoid using his actual voice at all costs. I suppose there was his brief role as Toad in X-Men, but I can’t remember a single thing he even said in the movie so… anyways. Awesome find, man.

Leave a Reply

