Skip to content

Up to Speed…

March 4, 2008

With everything that’s been going on in the last week (and, being honest, since the beginning of the year), I haven’t had as much time as I’d like to sit down and crank out posts. With that in mind, I wanted to give everyone a quick update as to the goings on here in Austin.

Work – I started my new job last week, and after a day getting the lay of the land turned around and shipped out to Las Vegas for Sony’s Open House event. This is similar to CES, though much more contained and far less crowded. It was nice being able to spend a lot of one-on-one time with the new products, and really get a sense for all the whiz-bang technologies Sony builds into its TVs, cameras, and whatnot. It was also a great opportunity to meet the client and ramp up on the account in general.

Since returning to Austin, I’ve been getting my hands dirty on a variety of assignments, and so far I’m loving it. The work is definitely different from what I was doing at GSD&M, but different in a good way. And I find a certain satisfaction knowing the documents I write and revise will actually help make people smarter consumers, rather than get lost among some internal team.

Nolan –  Jamie is now in her 35th week, and we’re both anxious to welcome Nolan into the world. I think the sheer terror at being a father has mostly subsided. There’s a selfish part of me (and it’s a big part) that is still worried about the loss of personal time, but for the most part, I’m excited about the prospect of this new adventure. This last weekend we put the (almost) final touches on the Baby Containment Unit. It’s really happening.

Writing – I think I’ve cleared another hurdle. Whatever weird mind games retarded my progress throughout February evaporated the moment I started the new job, and ever since I’ve been off to the races. This past weekend I blew through the remaining sections of Chapter VI and managed to break into Chapter VII, and this morning I knocked out an additional two sections. If I can keep this pace going, I may manage to get through Chapters VII and VIII before Nolan arrives. Better still – my original target for the first eight chapters was 95,000 words. As of this morning, I’m down to 92,335, for a grand total of just over 211,000.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 4, 2008 6:52 pm

    Personal Time???? What’s that?

  2. March 4, 2008 6:55 pm

    Glad to hear that you are enjoying the new job! This may have been what all of that time at GSD&M was preparing you for. It is amazing what a positive change in scenery can do to brighten your perspective.

  3. Mark permalink
    March 4, 2008 11:29 pm

    awesome….hope the new job is everything you dream. Thinking about it, with Nolan on the way you’ll basically have two new jobs. haha

  4. Will LHOR permalink
    March 6, 2008 1:09 pm

    Glad that the new job, baby, and writing are going well…when the novel is done I will demand a copy and when the baby is born i will demand pictures…
    Will

Leave a Reply

