Skip to content

Back in the Saddle

February 25, 2008

The upheavals of this past month have played havoc with my writing. Between the stresses of interviewing and turning in my notice at GSD&M, my slow-but-steady progress all but evaporated. For a time last week, I even entertained the idea of setting The Scourge of Rome aside and starting work on some other project. In the four and a half years since I started down this path, it was the first time I’d ever considered quitting.

Of course, I’ve come this far, and it would be foolish to walk away now. With that in mind, I took Friday off, and used my writing time to play through another level of Half Life 2. Come Saturday, I buckled down and got to work. The first hour and a half were brutal. I basically spent them staring at the computer screen, wondering how I would ever manage to break into a section the section that had been styming me since the end of January. But then something clicked, and I was off. By the time my three hours were up, I’d finished the section. Yesterday went equally well, and I put away another section after successfully cutting its word count by about half.

It’s been nearly a month, but I think my time in the wilderness is finally at an end. I’m back in the saddle again.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 25, 2008 5:49 pm

    “If the mountain was smooth – you would not be able to climb it”

  2. Matt permalink*
    February 26, 2008 8:25 am

    Stupid flat mountains…

  3. February 29, 2008 10:41 pm

    Or even worse – those pesky upside down mountains

Leave a Reply

