Skip to content

Another Year Gone…

January 2, 2008

If I had to sum up 2007 in one word, it would be “eventful”. A ton happened between January 1st and December 31st. There were moments of joy, of triumph, of sorrow, and of bitter disappointment. Looking back, I would say the good outweighed the bad, though by the narrowest of margins.

First, a look at the “bad” side of 2007:

  • Suffering through a miscarriage around the middle of the year.
  • Failing to win pitch after pitch at work, and then losing our biggest client, resulting in a mass layoff just before the holiday season.
  • Driving through Arkansas. Twice.

Now, onto the “good”:

  • Pregnancy. After the grief of a miscarriage, the wife is now on the cusp of her third trimester, and Baby Nolan is doing well. The prospect of fatherhood still scares the bejesus out of me, but in a good way.
  • Finishing the first draft of the novel. After toiling for three and a half years, I finished the first draft of my novel toward the end of March. I can’t begin to describe the sense of accomplishment.
  • Two fantastic vacations, one to Colorado Springs and the other to Asheville, North Carolina.

I don’t claim to know what 2008 has in store (and if I did, I’d be buying stock left and right), but with a baby on the way and work continuing on the book, I’m pretty sure it will be every bit as “eventful” as 2007.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

