Skip to content

Upside the Head…

November 19, 2007

My life has a curious tendency of puttering along at a certain pace until all of the sudden events converge and change smacks me upside the head. I can’t really explain how or why so many different things come together around more or less the same time, but they do.

I can’t help but feel that one of those convergence periods is crashing over me this very moment.

Last week, the agency laid off a whole bunch of people. We’ve known it was coming for awhile. We’ve known it had to happen. But I don’t think anyone expected the cuts to be as broad or as deep as they ended up being. I lost a number of friends, some of them close. My own fate is still somewhat uncertain. I think I’m safe. As of today, I still have a job. But no one has told us when this will all be over. Whatever the case, whatever happens, this sucks. It’s an experience I never want to go through again.

On a happier note, Jamie traded in her Mustang on Saturday. She loved that car, but it wasn’t exactly what you would call baby friendly. The new Honda CR-V should be a different matter altogether. We haven’t put even 100 miles on it yet, but so far it’s been fantastic.

And finally, I picked up the crib yesterday. We’ve registered. We’ve had the baby room (Jamie refuses to call it a “nursery”) painted. We’ve bought bedding. We’ve bought and returned to changing tables. But the crib is different. If one piece of furniture could ever drive home idea that, holy crap, we’re having a kid, it’s a crib.

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 14, 2007 2:54 pm

    I think you just explained the mystery or meaning of everybody’s life. In today’s job world, it is best to keep an updated resume and an eye on new job offerings. I have known too many people, quite comfortable in their life long job to have a completely sudden closure~bankruptcy, down-sizing, outsourcing, relocating~many in their late 40s or early 50s were lost as to where to go or what to do next.

Leave a Reply

