Skip to content

Clackety, clackety, THUNK!

November 2, 2007

Since I’m not really at liberty to ramble on about some of the bigger things going on in my life at the moment, I figured I would take a moment and ramble on about some of the minutiae, instead.

Turns out the Mini has a screw loose. Or had, rather. Earlier this week, one of the two screws holding the license plate to the tailgate just…disappeared.

Now, I’ve experienced some random and spectacular automotive mishaps in the past (most of them surrounding British vehicles). I’ve had bolts work their way loose and slide forward into radiator fans. I’ve had oil lines fail, spray their contents atop the engine block, and set the whole engine bay on fire. I’ve had entire electrical systems fail WHILE DRIVING. But I’ve never seen a vehicle throw a license plate screw. Well, until now.

Being the resourceful type, I headed to Lowe’s for some replacement hardware. Easier said than done. See, the screw is an M5 x .8 x 8. In plain English, you’re more likely to find a unicorn hanging out by the pegboard than you are to find this screw at any home improvement supercenter. So I made due with a suitable substitute.

Purchase in hand, I made my way to the parking lot and set about reinstalling the license plate. About halfway through, I was interrupted by an older gentleman who asked me what I was doing.

“Making sure they can’t find me,” I said. In jest, of course, but I don’t think he quite got it.

Once the plate was reattached, I realized I’d left the decorative frame sitting in the boot. Grumbling, I opened the tailgate, retrieved said frame, closed the tailgate, and froze.

For the past year and more, I’ve grown accustomed to the tailgate making a terrible racket every time I closed it. Yet this time, it slammed shut with a quiet, authoritative THUNK.

The license plate frame was the cause of all that racket, for all that time.

Suffice to say, I left it off.

Exciting story, no?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Tirzah permalink
    November 3, 2007 12:27 am

    It was HIGHLY exciting actually! HAHA I’ve had that “noise” happen to me before too. Stupid plate covers anyhow!

  2. December 14, 2007 2:49 pm

    Funny, is it not, that we simply grow accustomed to something that could be easily fixed, eh.

Leave a Reply

