Skip to content

Daily Irritations

August 8, 2007

We all have them. Those little things, be they animals, objects, or behaviors, that just set your teeth on edge.

Maybe I have more than most, who knows? But here’s a list of what’s getting under my skin these days.

Flies – The wife went out to dinner with a friend last night, and I decided to take advantage of the alone time to get some writing done. Figuring that it has been a relatively temperate summer, and that I tend to write better outside, I set up shop in the backyard, only to be subjected to the endless buzzing of flies. I probably killed six or seven of the wretched insects before I threw up my hands and retreated back inside. Yes, they are mostly harmless, I know, but they are damn annoying. So is the fact that you can’t really treat for them the way you can, say, ants.

Mosquitos – Ah, insect irritant number two. These aren’t so much a problem at home, but they tend to linger around my usual writing spot at the coffee shop, with the result that my sandaled feet are pretty much perpetually riddled with little bite marks.

Dump Trucks – Most. Annoying. Vehicles. On. The. Road. Not only are they slow, lumbering beasts, but they also have a tendency to fling all matter of dirt, gravel, and other debris at cars stuck behind them. That, and they are annoying loud.

Junk Mail – No, I don’t want life insurance, and I have no interest in saving 15% on my car insurance. Nor am I in need of saving $0.15 on a carton of milk. Screw off, leave me alone, and stop razing whole forests to try to sell me crap I don’t want or need.

Speed Racers – These are the people who pay through the nose to buy a pure, unrefined sports car that they then proceed to drive around at 10 mph under the speed limit. Look, I understand that it may not be a good idea to really unwind that Porsche 911 GT3 on a public road, but there’s no reason you can’t keep pace with traffic. I mean honestly, what’s the point?

Live Green. Go Yellow. – GM’s annoyingly saccharine campaign to convince people that E85 ethanol is all bunnies and rainbows. See, the truth of the matter is that corn-based ethanol is actually pretty hard on the environment, not at all sustainable if we want to, you know, eat, and nothing more than a giant bone to the corn lobby. Just because its not made from dinosaur juice doesn’t mean it’s “Green”. Rolling Stone, of all places, has a fantastic expose on the subject if you are interested.

What about you, dear reader(s)?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 8, 2007 8:32 am

    All so, so true. Thoroughly enjoyed reading!

  2. Kay permalink
    August 8, 2007 8:53 am

    Pedestrians who saunter into the cross walk after their walk sign has turned to orange, and then take their time to get to the other side, thus not allowing any cars to make their turns.

  3. nmbranch permalink
    August 8, 2007 1:48 pm

    So very true. For me one my major daily irritations is people who randomly stop by(and won’t go home) without calling first. Is it so hard for them to respect other people’s schedules.

  4. August 8, 2007 6:55 pm

    How about cell phone talkers who for some reason feel the need to shout while talking on the phone – it is a cell phone not a mega phone!

Leave a Reply

