Skip to content

On the Shelf

July 11, 2007

I’ve been in a bit of a lull since finishing 1634: The Baltic War. I’ve had my eye on Neal Stephenson’s Baroque Cycle, but with the next – and final – Harry Potter just around the corner, I’ve been hesitant to crack open anything so hefty.

Seeking a quick diversion, I took a chance and picked up Max Brooks’ World War Z, and am I ever glad I did.

The book is about a global zombie war that takes place in the near future. As crazy as it sounds, the story is presented as a series of interviews with various witnesses and survivors, in a similar vein to the works of Stephen E. Ambrose. I’m finding it a fascinating format, as it allows Brooks to introduce dozens of wildly different characters, each filling in the larger story with their own, personal experiences.

Well worth the read.

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 11, 2007 4:48 pm

    I read that book while on the road several months ago – hard to believe that this is from the son of Mel Brooks! He did a great job of having all of the events tie in together throughout the book and if was cool to here different peoples perceptions of all those events. There is also a companion piece (referenced several times in the book) called the Zombie Survival Guide. Any suggestions on some good old fashioned end of the world books? My book shelves have run dry!

Leave a Reply

