Skip to content

What Are They Doing?

July 10, 2007

I have two questions for the people at Volkswagen.

First. What gives with your bizarre SUV naming conventions? You name your passenger cars for the various winds (or, in the case of the Eos, the Greek goddess of the dawn), but the best you can come up with for your SUVs are “Various African Tribes that Start With a “T” and Are Difficult to Spell, Much Less Pronounce”? The Touareg was bad enough, and now we’ve got the Tiguan coming down the pipe? If that is really the best you can do, you’d fit in quite well in the U.S. government. I hear FEMA has some openings.

Second. How can you debut a compelling concept vehicle, and one that is clearly already near-production, to boot, and somehow go and turn the final product into the blandest vehicle this side of the Ford Explorer?

The Tiguan that showed up at Los Angeles last November was, in my opinion, pretty damn slick. Strong stance. Cool grillework. Paint color that made me want to guzzle Sunkist.

Tiguanconcept_02

I had high hopes for this strangely-named SUV. Had Volkswagen managed to translate the look to the final production model, Jamie and I might have even considered looking at it, especially considering Volkswagen’s love of diesel engines. Unfortunately, that rather attractive concept turned into this:

Db2007au01116_large

The same basic shape, I’ll grant, but come on, what happened? One is pretty slick, and the other one is the visual equivalent of an article out of Dental Economics.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Kay permalink
    July 11, 2007 11:33 am

    “Jamie (???) and I might have considered looking at it”…something tells me that first consideration starts with you.

  2. July 11, 2007 12:44 pm

    Well, I’m the one who brought it to her attention (I am the one who scours the auto press, after all), but she expressed interest.

    And besides…first consideration may lie with me, but the ultimate decision…that’s hers.

  3. Jamie permalink
    July 11, 2007 10:58 pm

    If we bought every car I ever said I didn’t hate we’d need a garage like Jay Leno’s (stop drooling Matt, this will never happen unless we some how become billionaires). For all you readers, let me illustrate Matt and I’s conversations about new cars:

    Matt: “Have you seen the new (fill in the blank with any number of vehicles)?”

    Me: “No.” *Just a note, why would I have seen them? I work with kids, they don’t pull up autoblog to show me the latest thoughts on the new CRV.

    Matt: “Let me show you (short pause while he pulls up the sight)….Here, what do you think?”

    Me: “Not bad.” or “I like it.” or “Uh, that’s awful.” This is the basic repertoire of responses, note-nothing over 3 words.

    Months later–

    Matt: “Remeber that (fill in vehicle) you liked?”

    Me: “No.”

    This happens on average 3 times a week.

    Anyway–Matt, you should photoshop the new one and make it orange, so we could really compare. Right now the two VW just look like they’re different colors and on different backgrounds.

  4. July 12, 2007 9:08 am

    Only three times a week?

  5. July 14, 2007 10:50 pm

    You guys crack me up!

Leave a Reply

