Skip to content

Happy Happy Joy Joy

June 15, 2007

As any good American knows, yesterday was Flag Day.  On a more personal note, it was also Jamie and my’s fourth anniversary, which, as far as anniversaries go, is about as significant as the twenty-second birthday.  Rather than going through the usual hubbub of dinner reservations and whatnot, we elected instead on takeout, a quiet night at home, and presents.

I got Jamie a ring she’s had her eye on for months, and somehow managed to play dumb and conceal its purchase from her for quite some time (note: this NEVER happens).  I will never understand the female fascination with pricey baubles that slide over one’s finger, but she seemed quite happy with it.

So what did Jamie get me?

One of THESE.  Of course, I said I wouldn’t set it up last night and, of course, I did anyway.  And let me say, here and now, that it is awesome.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 21, 2007 12:14 am

    Those look awesome, let me know how it works

  2. June 21, 2007 9:14 am

    It works great. Sets up and syncs to your computer just like an iPod. Anything you select gets sent wirelessly and stored on the hard drive. Operating it is pretty straightforward, too. If you’ve ever used Front Row on a Mac, it’s very similar.

    My biggest concern was video quality, but it is actually pretty good. You’ll never confuse it for HD, but it’s about what you’d get watching digital cable. And it absolutely throttles the DVR in terms of viewing experience (no having to fast-forward through commercials, because there aren’t any). Jamie and I spent the past few days catching up on Bones, and I’d put the AppleTV neck and neck with buying the season on DVD. Except that it is cheaper on iTunes, there’s no waiting for the DVD release, and you don’t have to switch discs every few episodes.

    And…photos look INCREDIBLE. I’ve been looking for a way to pipe photos to the TV for years, and this thing really delivers. You can even set it so it grabs the pictures you’ve synced to it for the screensaver.

    All in all, I can’t recommend it enough.

  3. June 24, 2007 1:51 am

    You have me sold – I went and saw a demo at the Apple store the other day – AWESOME….time to start saving my allowance

Leave a Reply

