Skip to content

The State of This Great Nation of Ours

June 14, 2007

Maybe it’s because I spend too much time reading Fark.  Either that, or I’m just cynical by nature.  Whatever the reason, though, I have of late found myself growing increasingly disillusioned with the state of this country and the apparent direction in which it is headed.  I look around and am reminded – forcefully, even – of the decay, the corruption, the factionalism, and the increasing obsession over petty, insignificant bullshit that pretty much defined the Roman Empire in the 3rd and 4th centuries A.D. (which succumbed to barbarian invasions in the 5th century).

It’s enough, sometimes, to make me want to pack up and move to some village in the Italian countryside. 

But, every now and then, I read an article like THIS that makes me thing that maybe, just maybe, we still have a chance.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

