Skip to content

Oh, Come On!

May 25, 2007

As many of you know, this has been a very trying week for the Austin branch of the McDougall clan.  One that has provoked many tears and a pernicious neck crick that has been lingering since Wednesday.

When I went to sleep last night, it was with the hope that maybe, just maybe, Friday would be better.  Maybe I would make my way to Seattle’s Best before work, make some progress on the novel revisions, and have a nice day at the office with enough work to keep me interested, but not so much that I felt snowed under.

That hope was obliterated at 5:41 AM, when I awoke to the sound of Smith (who we let sleep in the bedroom last night) making heaving noises by the door.  With visions of cleaning vomit out of the carpet swirling in my head, I leapt out of bed and ushered him into the backyard.  And of course, since my alarm is set for 6:00 AM, there was no point in going back to sleep.

Great way to start the morning, huh?

As it turns out, the near-miss vomit fiasco was pretty much the highlight of my morning.  After feeding the other dogs and going through the morning ritual of getting dressed and brushing my teeth, I climbed into the Mini, intent on getting onto the roads and beating rushhour.  I got maybe ten yards from the driveway when the car started shuddering and making a lovely whumping sound.

After firing off a string of profanities that would make Quentin Tarantino proud, I pulled back into the garage.  Sure enough, my front passenger tire was flat, as in 0 psi.  Even better, this marks the THIRD flat we’ve had in the last month.  All I can say is, thank God we have an air compressor.

At this point, I’ve had well enough of this week, and am more than ready for it to be over and done with.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 28, 2007 3:45 pm

    Maybe driving over that bed of nails every morning is not such a good idea?

  2. Tim permalink
    May 28, 2007 11:10 pm

    Um, you’re replacing those tires after using the air compressor, right?

  3. May 29, 2007 9:54 am

    Yes. The air compressor is a stopgap to get the car from the house to the tire place.

Leave a Reply

