Skip to content

Twitch

May 21, 2007

Maybe it’s because it’s Monday.  Or because there’s rain in the forecast.  Whatever the case, my right eyelid seems to have developed a twitch of some kind today.  Annoyed by this, I decided to investigate.

My searching revealed that this eyelid twitch actually has a medical term – blepharospasm – which for some reason reminds me of the Greek myth of Belarophon and Pegasus.

After snickering over the term for a moment or two, I scrolled down to the causes.  Lo and behold:

The most common things that make the muscle in your eyelid twitch are fatigue, stress, and caffeine.

Sweet!  I score the trifecta!  So what should I do now?  The advice is absolutely stellar.  Obviously compiled from the brightest minds in modern medicine:

  • Get more sleep.
  • Drink less caffeine.

Okay.  I’ll get right on that. 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

