Skip to content

And So It Begins…

May 4, 2007

It has been just over a month since I put the finishing touches on the novel.  In the intervening time, copies of the initial draft have been sent to a few brave souls, Heroes has returned with new episodes, and I’ve been forced to bide my time, to give myself some distance before diving back into it.

Now that I’m back from Colorado, it’s time to buckle down and get on with the second phase of this consuming project.

When I began writing back in 2003, my goal was a simple one.  I wanted to write a novel, to prove to myself that I could do it, to be able to look back at my life and not have to ask "what if?".

That part is done.  The novel is written.

Now comes the next stage.  Revising, editing, paring down, and otherwise polishing the 600-plus pages into something I can feasibly shop around to agents and publishers.

Jumping ship and making a career out of writing wasn’t something I intended when I set myself on this course.  Even now, I’m not too sure of my chances.  But hey…nothing ventured…nothing gained…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 7, 2007 2:59 pm

    I agree, you have taken it this far, what do you have to lose…….

  2. May 20, 2007 12:40 pm

    I have read that most novels are never finished to begin with, so you’ve done the hardest part already. Theoretically, it should be smoother sailing from here!

    The one thing that is guaranteed is that you WON’T be published if you don’t TRY! Good luck.

  3. July 23, 2007 9:50 am

    having just published my first novel i can honestly tell you that what you have already accomplished is incredible. however, if you are like me, it is not quite enough. i applaud you for continuing on and i am sure you will wonder why many more times, the editing is terrible, the rejections are terrible, but in the end it is worth every moment. there is an immense satisfaction in seeing your novel in print believe me. so keep working and good luck!

  4. killerthought permalink
    July 24, 2007 4:00 am

    A novel ha? That’s a real big dream. Anyway, goodluck with agents and all.

Leave a Reply

