Skip to content

Road Trip 2.0 – Day 1

April 27, 2007

From my memories of the drives to and from Arizona, I had somehow got the notion in my head that the drive from Austin to Canyon, TX (twenty miles south of Amarillo) would be nothing but hours of flat land and boredom.

And…well…parts of it were.

Texas Plains

Thankfully, much of it was actually pretty interesting, with the Hill Country vistas giving way to plateaus, and then some bizarre formations and outcroppings.  And when the geography let down, the manmade features pulled their weight.  Wind farms.  C-130s circling the sky like vultures.  And some great town names like Lawn and Novice.

Late in the day, we pulled into Canyon, Texas, so named due to a proximity to Palo Duro Canyon (a fact we only discovered upon arrival).  After dinner, with daylight fading, we made the short drive east to check it out.  It’s no Grand Canyon, but after that massive ditch, Palo Duro is the second-largest canyon in the U.S.  And we timed our arrival perfectly, just as the sun was sinking toward the horizon. 

Palo Duro

With darkness falling, we returned to the inn.

Today…we’re off for Colorado Springs.  Keep tuned for more pictures from the road.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 29, 2007 12:54 am

    I have always wanted to go to Palo Duro Canyon….always heard such great things, and lamented my laziness in not going considering its close proximity. Thanks to your photo, I feel like I’ve been there. Thanks for making it anti-climactic for me when I finally do get there! Hope you and Jamie are having a great time.

  2. May 2, 2007 12:30 am

    Colorado Springs – my old home! Can you stop by my old apartment – I think that I left my Best of Air Supply cassette tape there.

Leave a Reply

