Skip to content

So, Bumblebee is a Camaro…

March 27, 2007

I was a bit peeved about that at first.  Not that everyone’s favorite yellow Autobot isn’t the VW Beetle he was in the original cartoon series.  Rather, that they went and made him a Camaro.  Yeah, I know Volkswagen has something of a hangup about their having their products depicted in violent settings (as a comment on Fark went, "the last time they tried that the Allies firebombed Dresden").  But surely Spielberg and Bay could have convinced Mini to cough up some dough?  Especially with the all-new, completely redesigned Mini just launching?

Apparently not.

But I’m long past the whole Bumblebee-as-a-Camaro fiasco.  Because, for the past few months, Bay seems to have been taking all the right steps with Transformers.  Casting Peter Cullen as the voice of Optimus Prime (he voiced him in the cartoon) was genius.  Casting Hugo Weaving to voice Megatron, nearly as inspired. 

And now, new one sheets for Transformers are hitting the series of tubes that are the internet, and for the first time, we’re getting a glimpse of Prime in all his badass robotic glory.

July 4th can’t get here soon enough, and I, for one, plan to be there at a midnight screening, if only for the chance to see someone dressed up like a Transformer.  Comedy gold, that.

Optimus

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Tim permalink
    March 27, 2007 11:49 pm

    The funny thing is, the first time I read that, I read it as “July 4th can’t get here soon enough, and I, for one, plan to be there at a midnight screening, if only for the chance to dress up like a Transformer.”

    And that’s not the funny part. The funny part is that I just read it and said, “Hmm, Matt’s going to dress up like a Transformer. No big deal.” Then I moved on.

  2. March 28, 2007 9:12 am

    Believe it or not, I’ve never dressed up as a Transformer. Though I think I did Halloween as a Go-Bot once, back in my preschool days.

  3. Tim permalink
    March 28, 2007 10:28 pm

    But. We. All. Know. You. Wanna.

  4. March 30, 2007 2:51 pm

    Will Soundwave be voiced over by Stephen Hawking?

Leave a Reply

