Skip to content

Wait, a Pontiac that People Might Want to Buy?

February 8, 2007

Growing up, I had an unlikely affinity for Pontiacs.  As late as around fifteen or sixteen, I was convinced that the Firebird was one of the coolest cars on the plant.

I attribute this to the influence of Knight Rider.  I mean what kid wouldn’t want their own talking, smokescreen laying, bulletproof Firebird?

Unfortunately, the reality is never as good as the childhood fantasy, and once I got my license, I found myself beginning to revise my opinion of Pontiac.  And not even my fond recollections of KITT could help me look past the Tonka-toy build quality of the Grand Am that one dealer or another foisted on me as a loaner.  The steering wheel was solid plastic, with no give.  The steering itself provided about as much sensation and feedback as Pole Position.  And the cladding.  Ye gods, the cladding.

Despite this and other experiences, though, I’ve never been able to hold on to any hostility toward Pontiac.  Disappointment, certainly, but never hostility.  And so every time they try to turn things around, I’ll usually root them along.

And now, at last, after the false starts that were the GTO, G6, and to some extent the Solstice, they appear to have something in the pipe that might be truly special.  An honest to goodness, rear-wheel drive sports sedan.

Ladies and gentlemen, I give you the 2008 Pontiac G8:

Pontiac_g8

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

