Skip to content

Here, There, and Everywhere

January 6, 2007

Thankfully, my job isn’t the sort that requires a lot of travel.  Don’t get me wrong, I love airports and flight delays and the thrill of guessing which car the rental company will give you, but seeing several of my colleagues gone for as much as two weeks out of every month, well, it makes me appreciate being able to come home to the wife and dogs night after night, rather than a turned-down bed with a mint on the pillow.

More thankfully, in those rare instances that I am sent somewhere, it is usually somewhere pretty cool (cough…BMW Performance Center…cough).

That will hold true over the next two weeks, when I’ll be out and about, making my way to two of the most prominent trade shows in North America, if not the world.

The first, coming up this next week, is the International Consumer Electronics Show (CES) in Las Vegas.  Not only is it the world’s largest consumer electronics trade show, it is the largest of any kind in North America.  Hundreds of seminars and panel sessions.  Thousands of exhibitors.  Hundreds of thousands of attendees.  The latest and greatest innovations in technology, from next-generation wireless formats to electronic shower controls and ginormous televisions.  In other words, four days of geek heaven.

After returning from Vegas, I’ll have a weekend to rest and recuperate (or not, if the wife has anything to say about it) before turning around and flying to Detroit.  Maybe not as glitzy a destination as Vegas, but the Motor City is home to the North American International Auto Show, which, if you’re going to go to one auto show, is the one to go to.  It is where the latest models are introduced, the craziest concepts shown, and the absurdest amounts of money spent on displays.  Mercedes is supposedly putting in an ice rink this year. 

I’ll try to check in while I’m on the road, and maybe share a few impressions here and there.  Or maybe not.  I can practically hear the groaning about yet more car posts already.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 7, 2007 2:08 pm

    Sounds like an awesome time. At least you have a break between trips so you don’t have to pack for 2 EXTREMELY opposite climates!

  2. January 8, 2007 6:46 pm

    agreed…. and also…i think you should incorporate mints on your pillow into your homelife. Knowing that I won’t have a mint on a my pillow is the only thing that has stopped me from eloping thus far.

    My 2007 has been anything but good so far, but the fortunate news is that we are only eight days in…

Leave a Reply

