Skip to content

“Slow Down!”

December 15, 2006

Okay.  I will admit it.  I am something of a spirited driver.  I enjoy winding roads and taking sweeping curves at extralegal speeds.  I have been known to dart past slower drivers.

Despite my love of driving and my impatience with other drivers, I do take pains to not be "that guy".   I know the behaviors that I hate in other drivers, and try very hard to avoid them myself.  I signal before I turn (or change lanes).  I try not to cut people off.  I never cut in line.  I obey yield signs.  If I pull out onto a street and there is traffic approaching, I punch it and make damn sure no one has to hit their brakes because of me.

And I always, always drive slow in neighborhoods.  I’m not talking "immigrant workers looking for the correct address" slow.  But 20-25 miles per hour, which, last I checked, is actually lower than the posted limit of 30.  If kids are present or people are walking their dogs down the street, I will slow down even more.  As much as I like to drive fast, this is not Deathrace 2000, folks.

So imagine my surprise last night when I was driving home, nearing the house, when I heard somebody yell at me to "slow down!".  My eyes immediately dropped to the speedometer.  I didn’t think I was speeding, but I’d feel bad if I was, after seeing the way some drivers tear through our little neighborhood.  But I wasn’t going 35, or 30, or even 25.

I was going 19 miles per hour.  And being yelled at to slow down.

What the hell?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 15, 2006 10:45 am

    You speed demon you! How could you break the 17 mph threshold! I am ashamed. Actually, I try and hit 20 mph on my way out of the driveway!

  2. December 19, 2006 2:43 am

    maybe he wasn’t talking about your driving…maybe he was talking about your speech patterns???

    Were you rapping to Eminem with the windows down? Or better yet, were you adroitly singing the verses to R.E.M.’s ‘It’s the End of the World as We Know It?’ Both could reeasonably cause an innocent bystander to tel lyou to slow down….

Leave a Reply

