Skip to content

Vehicle Recommendations: Midsize

September 14, 2006

Ah, yes, the midsize sedan.  The vanilla ice cream of the auto industry.  Home of the Toyota Camry and (once upon a time) Ford Taurus.  Too big to be as tossably entertaining as their compact cousins, and too small carry as much (or fit those big V-8’s) as full-size sedans, they fall right in the middle.  Which makes the whole mid-size thing fitting, I suppose.

So, which ones do I recommend?

Mainstream: Honda Accord

Honda_accord

Why the Accord?  Because it represents the best balance between bland, unassuming brat-hauler and fun-to-drive, spirited sport sedan, and for a very competitive price.  Others may excel at one or the other, but the Honda’s balance lifts it to the top.

If the Accord is still too spicy for you, might I recommend the Toyota Camry.  And if it is too boring, turn the other way and go test drive the Mazda6.  For a surprising value, there’s the Hyundai Sonata.

Luxury: Infiniti M

Infiniti_m

I won’t lie.  I don’t really care for mid-size luxury sedans.  There’s nothing wrong with them…they just don’t do anything for me.  For any mid-size lux sedan, I’d infinitely prefer that automaker’s compact offering.  Give me a BMW 3-Series over a 5-Series, an Audi A4 over an A6, a Lexus IS over a GS, an Infiniti G35 over an M45.

But…if I had to choose…I’d spring for the M.  It looks better than the Lexus GS and drives about as well as its German competitors, but for thousands less.  But I’d still rather have a G35.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 21, 2006 11:38 am

    Cries….the Nissan Altima didn’t even get a mention!

  2. September 21, 2006 12:11 pm

    Well, after your experience…

Leave a Reply

