Skip to content

Chin Up

August 30, 2006

Like almost every new vehicle these days, my Mini came with remote keyless entry*.  Remote, however, must mean something entirely different in England, because no matter how often or how hard you press that unlock button on the key fob, it won’t trigger until about fifteen feet away.

Unless, that is, you use the super secret Mini trick.

I first read about this on a few Mini message forums, and like any right-minded (okay, debatable) person, I dismissed it as a bunch of hooey.  See, the super secret Mini trick is that, if you hold your key against your chin when you press the unlock button, it extends the range to approximately 32.48 miles.  Yeah, right, and those little sticker dealies you put on the back of your cell phone really boost the signal.

Then I tried it for myself.  Sure enough, it worked.  Walking out to my car one day after work, I hit the unlock button from about a hundred feet away.  Nothing.  Then, after looking around to make sure no one was there to see me, I held it to my chin and pressed again.  Lights flashed and, from across the parking garage, I heard the thu-chunk of the doors unlocking.

Amazed at this discovery, I tried it again, and again, and again, until I was comfortable enough to reveal it to the wife.  Being a right-minded person herself, she of course did not believe me, even when I showed her.  So I had her try it herself.  Her eyes lit up like Christmas.

Of course, nobody can give me a good explanation as to why the chin
thing works, other than a rather shrewd guess that the laws of pyshics
do not apply to British automobiles.  Having been around
enough…well…that does seem to be the case.

*Why do they call it "remote keyless entry" if you have to push a button on your key?  If it was truly keyless, the key would be unnecessary.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Tim permalink
    September 2, 2006 5:06 pm

    What are these “laws of pyshics” you speak of?

  2. jack permalink
    August 26, 2007 2:59 pm

    Since when has a BMW been british? Only real Mini’s are British. I’d be worried about bigger things than just the key if you think you’ve bought a true mini. It should look something like this http://www.ocoop.com/images/gallery/MiniPair.JPG !!!!!!!!!!

  3. Steve permalink
    August 29, 2007 11:28 am

    It has nothing to do with Mini. Your chin bone and flesh area help to act as an antenna for the radio transmitter. This has been true for all keyless entry remotes (code hopping and standard) since the mid 1980’s I used to be able to unlock my old Clifford alarm on my 86 GTI from 8 stories up.

  4. Doug Charles permalink
    January 6, 2008 1:18 pm

    It really works.

Leave a Reply

