Skip to content

Metallic Deli Mustard

June 21, 2006

These days, it is common for an automaker to release official photos of a new vehicle before officially unveiling it at some big auto show.  Watch a site like Autoblog in the days and weeks leading up to a major show, and you’ll see release after release of high-res images, press releases, and the like.

Personally, I think this practice has stolen some of the magic from the auto shows, but that is a subject for another post. 

Today, I want to talk about color.

Usually, automakers stick to tried-and-true colors for these first official images.  Silver is common.  Dodge seems to favor red.  Whatever the color, the intent is the same, to dress a car up as pretty as you can for its public appearance.
Land_rover_lr2_1
So what, exactly, was Land Rover thinking when it chose this metallic deli mustard color for the new Freelander? 

I mean, is it possible to choose a less flattering color?  Can you think of one? 

I’ve been going through my mental list of horrible colors, and nothing touches this.  Even just plain, boring beige would at least lend it a paramilitary/safari look that would be somewhat fitting for a Land Rover.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. June 21, 2006 4:59 pm

    Maybe they’re going for that “spicy” look? Then again, maybe they’re going for that “goes great wish weiner and relish” look.

  2. Tim permalink
    June 21, 2006 10:08 pm

    Purple. Lime green. Pink. Orange.

    C’mon, it may not be the BEST color, but there are plenty of less flattering ways to go.

    I know this because two weeks ago, my rental at Budget/Love Field was a purple PT Cruiser.

    Purple. PT. Cruiser.

    I should’ve realized it was a sign from above saying, “Get the f*** out of Dallas now.” If only I was wiser. Who at the rental car company woke up one day and decided to order a bright purple PT F****** Cruiser? What kind of person is this? Did Sideshow Bob start working there or something?

  3. June 21, 2006 10:32 pm

    HAHAHAHAHAHA…..you drove a PT Cruiser!!! Did you also go to the mall and hang out? Right now I am driving a silver Toyota Highlander, I walked by several PT Crappers on my way to my car and remember thinking “NEVER ME!!!”
    I’m sure it looks great on you though.

  4. Tim permalink
    June 22, 2006 10:24 pm

    That’s really ironic, because I walked past a bunch of minivans today, and thought “never me!”

    Remember the old Red Fox joke about why it’s better to be drunk than ugly?

    The next morning I woke up, and wasn’t driving the rented PT Crapper anymore.

    But you guys are still driving ugly.

    Nyah.

  5. June 23, 2006 3:32 am

    That really hurts Tim………..Good thing it’s Jenny’s car!!!!!!

  6. Tim permalink
    June 24, 2006 1:10 am

    That’d be fine … if I hadn’t heard you giving the “I’m really trying hard to make you believe I really like the minivan and not sound like a wuss” speech at least a dozen times over the last 5 years.

    Oh, no. Don’t think we forgot. The memory isn’t perfect. Except when it comes to Embarrassing Brother Facts.

  7. June 24, 2006 2:15 am

    I really want a van with shag carpeting, huge house speakers in the back and a bubble heart window!

  8. Tim permalink
    June 24, 2006 12:20 pm

    Now you’re talking. We can get the Pimp My Ride guys to put the hot tub in the back, too.

  9. Tim permalink
    June 25, 2006 2:06 pm

    By the way, we should have a separate topic just for commenting on Matt’s self photo with the “just woke up look.”

  10. June 26, 2006 12:32 pm

    I agree. Matt that picture is MUCHO CREEPY!

Leave a Reply

