Skip to content

Dodging the Bullet

May 28, 2006

When I made the decision to order a 2006 Mini, it was not without some trepidation.  After all, a brand new, completely redesigned Mini will be launching next year.  A part of me wanted to wait, to get the latest, greatest thing, but the more I thought about it, the more I kept coming back to the 2006.  My reasoning was as follows:

The way I see it, the current Mini is damn near perfect.  There’s
not much I would change.  It drives great, looks great, it has an iPod
adapter.  And, nearing the end of its model run, it is about as
well-sorted as it can get.

In other words, the next-generation Mini will be hard pressed to top
the current one, and even if it does, it is unlikely to top it by
much.  On the other hand, I fear it will be far easier for the new Mini
to fall short.

It comes down, essentially, to simple risk and reward.  I know I
love the current Mini, but I run the risk of the 2007 being
phenomenal.  On the other hand, what if I wait for the 2007 only to
find that it falls short?  By that point it will be too late to opt for
an ’06.  I would rather run the risk of having a car I love, even if it
is not the latest, greatest thing, than have to settle for a car that
falls short of what I want.

I’ve wavered somewhat since, wondering if I made the right call or not.  But today I finally saw a picture of an undisguised 2007 Mini Cooper S, and it confirmed, at least in my mind, that my decision was the right one.

07_mini_cooper_s

Royal_grey_5

Let me be the first to say "guh!".  Between those terrible headlights and that mesh grille, the new Mini looks like some goofy anime character.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Kay permalink
    May 28, 2006 10:48 pm

    It looks kind of like the talking car on those Exxon commercials.

  2. May 29, 2006 9:46 am

    You made the right choice. The new one looks like the plastic car we got Austin to scoot around in when he was little.

Leave a Reply

