Skip to content

Productive Weekend

January 23, 2006

A lot got done in the McDougall household this weekend.

Saturday morning, I got up early and headed out to Walnut Creek for a morning of mountain biking.  Good thing I got out there early – the parking lot was maybe a quarter full when I arrived around 9:45, but by the time I came back around 11, it was packed full.

Later on in the day, I put up some shelving in the laundry room while the wife made curtain/drape/fabric things for the breakfast room windows.

Then, on Sunday, Jamie made lots of progress with the laundry, while I put up the massive 5’x4′ pegboard in the garage that I’d been avoiding dealing with since we moved in.

After that, it was on to boxes.  Somehow, since moving in, we had managed to acquire an absurd amount of cardboard.  Even after passing along packing boxes to friends, we still had the boxes for the fireplace logs and other items, as well as the box our TV came in.  The box so big that, no matter how you manipulated it, it would simply not fit into the Xterra.

Well, yesterday all those boxes met a rather crazed Matt wielding a box cutter and, when necessary, a back saw.  They were cut down into manageable pieces and then, with their attendant foam pieces, were borne away to an undisclosed apartment complex and relocated in a dumpster. 

The total effect – in the span of six or so hours, the two biggest obstacles to any progress in the garage were removed.

Sweet.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 25, 2006 1:20 pm

    A crazed Matt wielding a box cutter?….I think I read somewhere that that’s a sign of the impending apocalypse. Oh wait..no..that was Matt getting laundry done…my bad.

    So now that you know how to vengefully destruct boxes, let me teach you how to methodically construct them. An anonymous Austin cameraman helped me make an instructional video on the subject. It can be had for only $19.95 plus $12 shipping and handling.

    But this is a limited time offer…so act now! Kids, ask your parents.

  2. January 25, 2006 1:38 pm

    You better watch it…or I’ll upload said video.

  3. January 27, 2006 11:21 pm

    When you have to use a saw on boxes, that is a lot of boxes! You should have made them into a really cool fort!

  4. Tim permalink
    February 1, 2006 10:37 pm

    I’m still stuck on the got up extra early and got to the mall by 9:45 part.

    What, is this supposed to be “My Name is Earl”?

    “I set the alarm for 8 o’clock, and that’s early for a guy like me.”

  5. February 3, 2006 6:07 am

    The mall? You must be thinking Barton Creek. Walnut Creek is a park up in north Austin with miles and miles of mountain bike trails.

    But I see your point.

Leave a Reply

