Skip to content

“Extra Special”

December 16, 2005

Holiday bonuses are something of a joke where I work.  Always have been. 

So this year, when we were told we would be getting an "extra special" holiday bonus, I was skeptical. 

I mean last year, after all the remarks that "at least its not a year’s membership to the Jelly of the Month Club", I found out that such a membership would have actually been worth more.

But then, as the days passed, I began to wonder if I was wrong to be skeptical.  I mean, we’ve had a big year…maybe…just maybe…and they did say "extra special".  That’s beyond special, which is beyond normal. 

Maybe…just maybe.

Nope.  Wrong.  Sorry.  Thanks for playing.

It may just be me, but I don’t think a bonus that doesn’t even equal the amount of taxes deducted from my paycheck qualifies for "special" status, much less "extra special" status.

I don’t think a bonus that equals one-half a percent of my annual salary qualifies for "special" status either, unless this is like that He-Man episode where everything runs backwards, and "special" really means "terrible".

Now…I don’t mind the bonus.  Something is certainly preferable to nothing. 

What chaps my hide is the "extra special" tease.  Talk about raising expectations and setting the bar too high.   Just a ready made setup for disappointment.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to go blow my holiday bonus on a tank of gas.

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 19, 2005 11:44 am

    Okay, well, I guess I won’t complain about my bonus then. Sorry it wasn’t so “extra special”.

Leave a Reply

