Skip to content

Netflix Chronicles – Constantine

December 14, 2005

Constantine

Apparently, John Constantine was a comic book character.  I never got into comics, however, and so my knowledge is limited to the major superheroes – Superman and Batman and whatnot.

Constantine isn’t like them.  He has no alter-ego.  He’s rude.  He’s haggard.  He chain smokes.  He’s dying of lung cancer.  And he’s going to hell.

See, Constantine was born with a gift, with the ability to see the half-breeds from heaven and hell that occupy our world.  The visions drove him to suicide…and for that he is condemned.  And yet he has hopes of buying his way into heaven by sending demons and demon half-breeds back to hell.  Not a bad plan, if you ask me.

Of course, events start taking place.  You can’t have a movie without events.  Being a movie about heaven and hell, you can take it for granted that there will be a prophecy at some point, and there is.

Overall, it was a fun movie.  Not a good movie, but a fun movie.  The effects were well done, and I actually enjoyed watching Keanu play a prick.

On a scale of psuedo-religious supernatural action thrillers, I’d put it above End of Days, certainly, but below Fallen and below Hellboy.

Two and a half stars out of five.

Next up – Fall of the Roman Empire

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 14, 2005 4:45 pm

    I just saw King Kong and I walked out halfway through.

  2. December 14, 2005 10:43 pm

    Wow Mark, was it that bad? I have my doubts, 3 hours is a long time to tell a simple story with no new twists, I think I’ll just rent Jurassic Park again.

  3. December 14, 2005 10:57 pm

    I didn’t walk out…but…it’s not the masterpiece that so many are rushing to call it. And it is no Lord of the Rings trilogy.

Leave a Reply

