Skip to content

Netflix Chronicles – Kill Bill: Vol. 2

November 28, 2005

The wife and I recently signed on with Netflix and just went through our first round of movies.  So, in my quest to fill my blog with even more useless crap, I’ll be throwing up quick reviews of movies that have been out on video for months, years, or even decades.

Now, on to our first installment…

Kill Bill: Vol. 2

Vol. 2

The follow up to Quentin Tarantino’s gleefully violent kung-fu flick titled, you guessed it, Kill Bill: Vol. 1.

This second installment was more restrained in its fits of violence and far, far more concerned with character development.  This is both a good thing and a bad thing.  Good in the fact that the characters, from Uma Thurman’s Bride to Michael Madsen’s Budd, are well realized.  Bad because, well, it leaves the whole saga feeling somewhat unbalanced, what with the wanton, splattering bloodshed of the first volume followed by the slower, more dialogue dependent second.

I would be curious to see Tarantino release a single Kill Bill and re-edit it as the single film it was originally intended to be.  I wonder…would it find that balance I found lacking in the two separate installments?

Overall Rating?  Three stars out of five.

Next up: Road to Perdition

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Tim permalink
    November 28, 2005 7:55 pm

    Ah, come on. At least 4 stars.

    And while I’d agree that the tone is different from the first one … I’d hardly call it dialogue driven. Unless you count screaming while buried alive or screaming while someone just threw a snake at you that bit you on your only eye.

    I’m actually kind of amazed it took you this long to pick up the Netflix habit. Before too long, you’ll have a ridiculous queue of over 200 movies that you want to watch, just like me.

  2. November 29, 2005 6:52 am

    Well, relative to Vol. 1, Vol. 2 is pretty dialogue-driven. I liked both movies, and probably prefer Vol. 1 by a sight margin, but I can’t shake the feeling that they would have been better as a single film.

    Of course, I understand why Tarantino split it into two – but putting it back together for DVD would have been a cool thing for him to do.

    Either way – I’m eagerly anticipating his next flick, which from what I’ve been hearing is supposed to be a WWII/Dirty Dozen type of flick.

  3. November 29, 2005 4:22 pm

    I have to admit, we are getting our first Netflix delivery today! I think I was always concerned about watching enough movies to make it cost effective, and now I can’t think of all the movies I wanted to see!

Leave a Reply

