Skip to content

Well, There’s That…

November 17, 2005

I’ve been witness to some strange things in my time on this planet.

I was there to watch a friend drop his beer (it was a longneck bottle) which not only did not break, but landed perfectly straight and spilled nary a drop.

In college, I experienced the awkwardness of a middle-aged white woman with a lisp and liberal sensibilities teaching a class on feudal Japan, which was, shall we say, not known for its progressive stance on women’s rights.

And then there was last year when, against all laws of probability and physics, our yellow lab managed to steal away into the closet and poop directly into one of the wife’s boots.

Well, today I saw another sight to add to this list.

I was sitting in traffic this morning when I noticed the guy in the BMW Z4 behind me had his hand over his mouth.  I figured the car must be a standard, and that he was holding his phone with the wrong hand so he could shift or something. 

But then, at the next light, I saw that he had two hands over his mouth.  But not in the "I’m scarfing a breakfast taco" kind of way.  I peered into my rearview mirror, and realized the guy was playing a harmonica.

A harmonica!  In traffic!  I’ve seen people do some weird things while driving, but never, ever, have I seen someone playing a musical instrument.

Well, I suppose now I have…

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 18, 2005 6:11 pm

    One time in Austin a skateboarder skated out in front of my car. I honked and in one smooth motion, while still skating, he jumped up, dropped his pants, mooned me and best of all slapped his cheeks for emphasis! It was amazing, he just kept on skating! Since then I have tried to dupliate the manuever (without the skateboard) and it always ends up with me crumpled on the floor in a coprimising position.

    If only I could see that move in the NBA Slam Dunk Contest – a 10 for sure!

  2. Tim permalink
    November 19, 2005 10:55 am

    And thank you for putting that mental image in my head.

  3. November 19, 2005 2:33 pm

    You are welcome – I’m here to help.

  4. November 21, 2005 11:16 am

    I remember being in Italy on a family holiday once. it was the height of summer, we were sitting around an open air table and there was a wasp buzzing around our drinks. My Dad, a peace loving and gentle man kept waving it away but to no avail. Eventually, the yellow and black striped marauder landed on the rim of my glass. My Dad tried to tap it away with a table knife, but somehow managed to slice it exactly in half. The wasp, unaware it had just been guillotined continued to walk around the rim on its front legs, while the other half fell buzzing on the table. For the next ten minutes, my dad tried to replicate his new pest control technique, but only succeeded in cracking two glasses and diverting another wasp into my sister’s hair.

  5. November 21, 2005 11:18 am

    Actually, you’ve never seen a cat driving a car. Neither have I, but that would be something, wouldn’t it? Maybe have a word with BMW to see if they can make a “feline friendly” coupe or something?

  6. Jenny permalink
    November 23, 2005 4:46 pm

    That is a great skateboard story. I can’t think of anything odd I’ve witnessed now, I’m too busy visualizing the skateboard thing.

  7. Tim permalink
    November 26, 2005 10:00 pm

    Hah. I’m imagining the wasp story with my dad, who would either be after the wasp in a fit of rage, or who would be after it because the whole concept would seem hilarious after a glass or two or five of wine.

    The story always ends with several smashed glasses and my stepmother getting kicked out of the restaurant, because that’s how these things always end in my family. And it’s hilarious.

Leave a Reply

