Skip to content

Visited Country Map

November 14, 2005


create your own visited country map
or check our Venice travel guide

The crappy thing about this map is that it rewards visiting large countries.  I mean, how much cooler would it look if I had Russia and China and Brazil on there? Those would add a lot more red than Switzerland, or the Bahamas.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 14, 2005 11:00 am

    I did this, too. Our maps are pretty similar. I see you’ve been to Tunisia – that’s where my husband is from. Did you enjoy the trip?

  2. November 14, 2005 3:54 pm

    My world map was pretty dull (Only the US, Mexico and Virgin Islands). My US map was much better – 68%. I only have 16 states left to visit. Some of those I had been to, but I did not count it unless I spent a full day and night there. I now have a new goal in life!

  3. Tim permalink
    November 15, 2005 11:37 am

    Heh .. less Europe here (only Greece, Italy, and Spain) but I get a little more Central (Costa Rica) and South (Agentina) to balance that out.

    Argentina is big on the map, and that makes me feel good. I almost marked Chile as well, since we mistakenly wandered across the border into that country, but since we weren’t there long (at the, um, “suggestion” of the armed Chilean patrol who informed us of our location) it didn’t really count.

  4. November 15, 2005 3:05 pm

    Did being in Chile give you gas? If you had some Cheese Nips handy, you could have been in Chlie con Queso…….Yea, it’s been a long day.

  5. November 16, 2005 7:38 pm

    Well, I was only in Tunisia for a matter of hours – it was a port of call on a cruise. Going by the “spending a full day and night there” rules, I don’t suppose I should count it…but perhaps different rules apply if its a completely differet continent…

    But yes…I did enjoy my short time in Tunisia. It was a chance to see the ruins of ancient Carthage, which is no small thing for me. What surprised me most, though, was how Mediterranean it felt. Not the weather (we were there in July, and it was friggin’ hot!), but the people and the overall “feel”.

Leave a Reply

