Skip to content

Love It or Hate It?

October 15, 2005

The wife and I ventured to the Alamo Drafthouse tonight to catch Cameron Crowe’s new film – "Elizabethtown".

Elizabethtown

She agreed with the majority of the critics – that the film was disjointed and, well, not all that great.

I, on the other hand, loved it.  Absolutely loved it, from its meandering disjointedness to the pandas and the phone call.  From "60B" to the "Learning to Listen" video and the road trip that serves as the film’s denouement.  The Spasmotica.  Chuck and Cindy.  The beers in the bathrobes. 

I loved the whole damn thing.  I loved what it had to say about loss and failure, embarrassment, family, love, and ultimately, life.  I see this as Cameron Crowe at his best.

What do you think, those of you who have seen it?  Do you stand with Jamie and with the critics and other right-thinking people of the world?  Do you find yourself underwhelmed by the film? 

Or did you find it speaking to you, too?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 16, 2005 5:52 pm

    I haven’t seen the film (or any new film for ages, for that matter)but after hearing your thoughts, it goes to #1 on my to see list.

    I’ll let you know,
    Mark

  2. October 17, 2005 1:00 pm

    Singles came out my senior year of high school and I loved it (still do). I was listening to the soundtrack the first time I got a speeding ticket. That’s the only Crowe film I’m familiar with. Maybe it’s just poor marketing (or a dislike for Bloom unless he’s got elf ears), but I’ve had absolutely no desire to see this until reading your review. I’ll probably still wait for DVD.

Leave a Reply

