Skip to content

Good God

August 1, 2005

It’s August already?

Next thing I know it’ll be 2034.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 6, 2005 1:04 pm

    Matt,
    Dies the Fire part 2 (The Protectors War) comes out September 1. I can’t wait. You can read the first few chapters on line and so far it looks great! They are really expanding the universe for this one. The book starts off in England with Prince Charles having dumped Camilla for an Icelandic noble and the ensuing fight for power in the UK. I am counting the days.

  2. August 11, 2005 9:29 pm

    I saw that. I’m not supposed to buy any more hardbacks, but that might have to be the exception. Dies the Fire was outstanding, even if Stirling has a way of going on about the landscape and vegetation.

    Harry Turtledove’s newest book (in a series of like nine or ten now) just came out, too – World War II between the U.S. and the Confederacy. Good stuff.

  3. August 12, 2005 1:16 am

    I may have to pick up Turtledov’s latest. I have really enjoyed his stuff. I gave me such an insight to the Civil War and what really started it, that on my drives from Ft Worth to Phoenix, I listened to 12 hours of books on tape all about the Civil War. It was great!

  4. August 12, 2005 11:13 am

    If you want some great reads on the Civil War – check out Newt Gingrich’s alternate history trilogy – “Gettysburg”, “Grant Comes East”, and “Never Call Retreat”, which is listed in my sidebar.

Leave a Reply

