Skip to content

Nice is Nice

July 9, 2005

I have a revision to make.  For years I have held a low opinion of France.  I have made my share of jokes involving white flags, I have cringed at the swirling lilt of the French language, and I have shown no interest in French culture beyond the 12th century A.D.  It is one of those countries I have never had an interest in visiting and seeing with my own eyes.

My thoughts on France could be summed up with two simple words – “France Sucks”.  Beyond baguettes and brie, I had no use for France or for its people.

After visiting France for the first time today, I must now revoke my earlier opinion.  France – or at the very least Nice – most certainly does not suck.  Quite the opposite, in fact.  I have found Nice to be a charming city in just about every respect, from its friendly people to its food to its truly agreeable climate.

Dare I say it, I think Nice may be my favorite destination yet on this long, winding vacation.  Of course, Rome is always difficult to top…

Nice – and the small Medieval village of Eze – were certainly pleasant surprises, however.  Here’s hoping our remaining stops in the Cote d’Azur – Monte Carlo, La Lavendou, and Cannes – have similar capacities for surprise.

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 10, 2005 11:50 am

    France Sucks.

Leave a Reply

