Skip to content

Back At It

June 10, 2005

Finding the time to write has not been an easy thing for the past month and a half.  Since mid-April, I’ve had to deal with the arrival of two (demanding) dachshund puppies, the sale of one house, the purchase of another, packing, moving, and now unpacking.  I was lucky to sneak out to write once a week, and when I did, I often found myeslf too exhausted to be of much use.

Only this week has that really started to change.  Jamie’s done with preschool now, so I no longer have to trek home at lunch to deal with the dogs.  We are in our new house and, though we still have a lot of unpacking and work (painting and such) to do, the worst is behind us.  No more rushing to deal with financing, insurance, moving companies, landscaping, window treatments, or televisions.  As such, I’ve been able to sit down this week and really focus on writing.

The results have been quite satisfactory.  I decided to rewrite XIII-6 and, after struggling with it over the last few weeks, pretty much knocked out on Wednesday.  I’m far happier with its new, leaner form, and am currently plugging away at section seven.  Alert readers may recall that the opening of this section was giving me headaches a few weeks ago.  Well, no more.  After finding a better way to come at it, I got through it today at lunch.

Tonight I have some light polishing I want to do on that first half, and then I’m launching into the second half of XIII-7.  It is one of those big, character-defining moments that I have been looking forward to since I first took up this endeavor.  Which means it will either be ridiculously easy to write, or ridiculously hard.

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 12, 2005 11:54 am

    Congrats on Jaimie graduating Pre-school, we knew that she had it in her. Be careful though next year, Kindergarten can be quite demanding, not to mention First Grade! Just remember to pack her a good lunch and make sure that her shoes are tied and she will do just fine.

Leave a Reply

