Skip to content

Concentration

March 31, 2005

There’s a lot being bandied about these days regarding ATTENTION DEFICIT DISORDER.  Heck, there’s been a lot being bandied around about it for years.

I know for a fact that I do not have ADD.  If anything, I have the opposite.  Instead of getting distracted easily, I have some uncanny ability to focus on one task to the exclusion of all else.  This served me poorly in my days working in account service (well, that and an inability to schmooze), but has been a great asset in my current research and analysis role.  Oh, and it helps in writing, too.

Since everybody has a condition these days, I figure I’m going to invent my own.  Oh, sure, I could just call myself focused, but that’s not good enough.  I need a label.  So here goes…

I have…ATTENTION ABUNDANCE DISORDER.  AAD.

Stick that in your pipe and smoke it.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 1, 2005 1:17 am

    Ya know, I was thinking the same thing tonight as I was watching the extensive coverage, from EVERY imaginable angle, of Terri Schiavo’s death.

    I turned on the TV just to get a general news update…but it was all Terri. You may have AAD, but I think our society has OFD–Obsessive Fixation Disorder.

  2. April 1, 2005 9:45 am

    As one commenter in Fark’s forums said about Terry Schiavo’s death:

    “Thank God, maybe now we can get back to the Michael Jackson trial.”

    The media has become some kind of freak circus show. I don’t get it. I mean, I’m sure there are probably very important things happening in Russia, Angola, and Spain, but all we hear about is (in the broad scheme of things) trivial, peripheral events.

    My theory – we are so accustomed to having everything at our fingertips these days that, when something comes up where we don’t know the outcome, we freak out, because, well, we can’t know immediately. Then comes the obsessive fixation until we do know.

    I think this more than adequately explains the phenomena of the past few years, from American Idol to Scott Petersen, the Swift Boat Vets to Terry Schiavo to Michael Jackson.

    Me, I’ll just stick to my AAD.

Leave a Reply

