Skip to content

Mustang Dreams

March 24, 2005

Regular Carpe Hot Dog readers will know that I am pretty much constantly lusting after some vehicle or other.  What can I say?  I’ve got a thing for cars.  If I had the space and the finances to pull it off, I’d own thirty, easy.

So, when I say that a new car may be coming to the family in the near future, it would be logical to assume that it would be for me.  After all, I go through cars the way Henry VIII went through wives.  And I’m next in line, since Jamie just got her Pilot in December of 2003.

It would be logical, but it would be wrong.

I may be next in line, but I’m deliberately holding off from a new vehicle for a few more years.  I’m happy with the Xterra, and while I am in love with the new generation, I know that a few options I am particularly interested in (iPod connectivity being the main one) are on their way in a year or two.

The wife, on the other hand…

She may have gotten the Pilot a little over a year ago, but in that time she’s come to realize it isn’t exactly the car for her.  Its predecessor was a much-beloved Civic, and she only went with a mid-size SUV because of various protestations about the safety of a compact coupe on the highways.

Now, she likes the Pilot, but it is a bit big for her tastes, and the gas mileage is not exactly stellar (though it is superior to the Xterra’s).  And, by the time she’s next in line for a new set of wheels, we’ll be considering the whole kids thing (a few years off…calm down, mom), and she’ll pretty much be stuck with a mommy-mobile.

So…she’s been increasingly considering ditching the Pilot in favor of something smaller and something fun.  What does she have her eye on?  Her favorite all-time car, which just happened to see a major, extraordinarily well-received update last year.

That’s right.  The better half wants one of these:

Ford_2005_mustang_1

In case you know absolutely nothing of cars, that is a Ford Mustang.

Now, at this point, any reasonable person would be saying "what?".  Jamie just got the Pilot a little over a year ago, and now she wants a whole new car? 

I might be inclined to agree with said reasonable person, but I’m in no position to protest.  After all, I did the EXACT SAME THING.

In the summer of 2001, I got an Acura TL.  Great car, but one that I came to realize was not for me.  There were a variety of factors that led to my decision (speeding tickets, lack of road command, premium gasoline, black leather in the Texas summer, etc) to trade it in for the Xterra.  Fortunately, the Acura was still new enough that I was able to pull off a straight trade, and drive away in the new SUV without paying a cent.

Now, the wife finds herself in a similar position.  I’ve checked the trade-in value on her Pilot, and we would be able to swing a straight trade easily.  So, if that’s what she wants to do, well, I have to admit that I’ve been far happier with the Xterra than I ever was with the Acura, great vehicle though it was.

Regardless of what we decide, nothing will happen on this front until the summer.  We still have the move to deal with, and the Pilot has a lot more room to lug stuff around than a Mustang.

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 25, 2005 12:22 am

    Hey, what’s wrong with a Mom-mobile? Plenty of cool, masculine, trend-setting 37 year old men can be seen driving them around town now-a-days……OK, maybe I’m the only one. Darn!

Leave a Reply

