Skip to content

One Left

March 18, 2005

I put the finishing touches on another section of Chapter XII this afternoon.  That means that, at last, I’m down to one final section. 

One section is all that stands between me and finally completing this chapter that has dogged me since last July.  Cripes, I’ve almost spent as much time on Chapter XII as I have the rest of the book!

I am cautiously optimistic that the final section will fall into place quickly.  My hope lies in the fact that I’m now past the battle scenes, which I suspect were a large part of my struggles.  The Battle of Cannae was a massive and complicated battle, and in portraying it, I’ve had to use multiple characters at multiple places on the battlefield.  I’ve had to contend not only with their thoughts and actions, but the fighting going on around them, the panic and the confusion, and on top of all that I’ve had to keep the reader informed of who is where, what is going on, and what it means for the larger battle.  It’s been daunting, managing the characters, the horrors of hand-to-hand combat, and the broader tactical elements. 

I’m hoping that’s it.  I’m hoping that is what has tripped me up for so long, but we shall see.

Jamie is out of town this weekend.  If the stars align, I may just have Chapter XII in the bag before she gets home.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 18, 2005 3:43 pm

    Matt,
    Way to go, I can’t wait to read it!!!!

    JB

  2. March 18, 2005 5:42 pm

    I can’t wait to finish it!

Leave a Reply

